Home -> View Lot

Andrew Johnson 1865-1869 Vice President and Cabinet Members Signed Items (8)

Lot Number 1267

Quantity: Bid Starts: 03/24/2023 12:00:00 
Bid Open: 300.00  Bid Ends: 04/06/2023 23:30:00 
Bid Count: Overtime: 30 Minutes
Currently: 0.00  Time Left: 10d 6h 41m 56s
View Count: 726   
  Time Left to Place Your Initial Bid
10d 5h 11m 56s
    Previous Lot <--> Next Lot

Morgan Bulkeley's Personal 1790s-1920s "Presidential Cabinet" Autograph Collection


As the first National League president in baseball history (1876), Morgan Bulkeley is a much sought-after signature in his own right, and we've been fortunate to showcase the early Hall of Famer's signed personal effects in our recent auctions. Now the shoe is on the other foot, so to speak, because it turns out that Bulkeley himself was an autograph collector—and he happened to focus his efforts on fellow presidents! U.S. presidents, that is, plus the inner circles of cabinet members who served them. This political theme was quite apt considering that Bulkeley went on to serve as Hartford mayor, Connecticut governor and U.S. Senator before his death in 1922 at age 84.


Thus we proudly present Morgan Bulkeley's presidential cabinet autograph collection spanning George Washington's coterie in the 1790s up through the Harding/Coolidge/Hoover era after World War I. There are 10 presidents and 17 vice presidents represented, plus Daniel Webster, William Jennings Bryan and the Great Compromiser, Henry Clay. Also no fewer than 9 members of Lincoln's famed "Team of Rivals" cabinet, including Salmon Chase and William Seward. Some cabinet members in the collection served multiple positions and/or administrations. The various cuts originate mainly from official documents, letters/envelopes and souvenir cards. They range in size, condition and mounting, yet are uniform in their elegance, scarcity and historical import. Each elite offering comes with an Auction LOA from JSA.



Andrew Johnson 1865-1869 Vice President and Cabinet Members Signed Items (8)


1) Lafayette Foster (Vice President)


2) William Seward (Secretary of State)


3) Hugh McCulloch (Secretary of Treasury)


4) Benjamin Wade (Senate President Pro Tempore; next in line of succession during Johnson's impeachment)


5) William Evarts (Attorney General)


6) Lorenzo Thomas (Secretary of War)


7) John Schofield (Secretary of War)


8) James Harlan (Secretary of Interior)

Pictures  (Click on Photo to Enlarge)